“. . . but! i don’t want comfort! I WANT GOD! i want poetry, i want danger, i want freedom, i want goodness, i want sin . . .”

img_20160324_205606.jpg

I remember the day Nelson Mandela was released from prison, I think it was the weekend and for sure I was in my Grand Uncle’s house just two minutes from where I lived.  It was a sunnie day in Cavan and it was a sunnie day in South Africa, and Monsignor Mackin told me to recognise the day that was initt; a wronged man was free.

I loved that old uncle of mine and to this day eyve never forgotten him, a man’s man, which was something to be back then, but nothing to be proud of today.  Two weeks after he died in the Autumn of 1991 I hadda dream where he was alive and it was so real and convincing eyve never doubted the existence of an afterlife since.

* * *

What stuck with me from that day; was that justice will always win, that the wronged will (eventually) be righted, and that time always finds a balance; a proposition I wholeheartedly agree with and yet eyem troubled by the case of Geert Wilders who went on trial, last Friday for allegedly inciting hatred against the Dutch Moroccan minority.  This is a man who fights legally against the orthodoxy of his day and now finds himself in the position of possible imprisonment and I just don’t think this is fair or just, as I believed we had laws favouring freedom of speech, statutes facilitating flexibility of speculation and I see that this is not the case; we only have punishment for those with heretical views toward the beliefs of the modern state.

And what gets me is that no NGO’s stand with him, helping to defend his viewpoint, “itz obviously wrong” and thatz whatz annoying, if you hold the wrong convictions; you’re on your own.

This entry was posted in Civil society, Culture, Europe, Justice, nanny state, Opinion, Poetry, Politics, Quotes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “. . . but! i don’t want comfort! I WANT GOD! i want poetry, i want danger, i want freedom, i want goodness, i want sin . . .”

  1. aj vosse says:

    I remember the day well! It was a Sunday… SA TV didn’t show the Grand Prix, because… as you can imagine, the whole Madiba release took over the TV programming! Heretical as it may sound, we wanted to watch the GP… we’d seen the release… we didn’t need many more hours of posturing and parading! Sad, but true!! (As you mentioned free speech I thought I’d be un-PC!)

    On a slightly different note… look at SA today. Would the great man enjoy seeing what is going on in the country today? I think not! Here’s something I posted two years ago,,,

    https://ouchmybackhurts.wordpress.com/2014/02/08/the-flawed-legacy-of-a-giant/

Leave a Reply

